Home

Logo designed by Diane Saunders (Vanderbilt University)

#virtualdrc

Upcoming Seminar

Wednesday, August 11th, 2021

11:00 AM PST| 12:00 MST| 1:00 PM CST | 2:00 PM EST

“Type 2 Diabetes in African American Men: Lessons Learned and the Road Ahead”

Jaclynn Hawkins, Assistant Professor

Associate Director of the Curtis Center for Health Equity

School of Social Work

University of Michigan

About the DRC Virtual Seminar Series

The Virtual Diabetes Research Center Seminar Series began as an effort to connect investigators and trainees during this time of great change and isolation related to the COVID crisis. This seminar series is organized by the NIDDK-funded Diabetes Research Centers at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Columbia University, Joslin Diabetes Center, Indiana University, Stanford University, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, UCSD/UCLA, UCSF, the University of Chicago, the University of Colorado, the University of Michigan, the University of Washington, Vanderbilt University, Washington University, Yale University, and in North Carolina (logos and connections below). Each seminar in the series features an outstanding scientist or panel of scientists discussing the latest in diabetes, obesity, or metabolic research.

The seminars are held on the second Wednesday of the month at (2:00 PM ET | 1:00 PM CT | 12:00 PM MT | 11:00 AM PT) unless this date coincides with a federal holiday. All webinars are free to attend. Trainees are encouraged to sign-up to meet with speakers after each seminar.


Spring 2021 Schedule

Date & Time

01/13 at
1:00 PM CT

02/10 at
1:00 PM CT

03/10 at
1:00 PM CT

04/14 at
1:00 PM CT

05/12 at
1:00 PM CT

06/09 at
1:00 PM CT

Speaker

Felicia Hill-Briggs, PhD, ABPP (Johns Hopkins)

E. Dale Abel, MD, PhD
(University of Iowa)

Debbie C. Thurmond, PhD
(City of Hope)

COVID-19 Panel

William Parker, MD, MS

Monica Peek, MD, MPH, MS, FACP

Kamlesh Khunti, MD, PhD, FRCP, FRCGP, FMedSci

Jose C. Florez, MD, PhD
(Harvard)

Darleen Sandoval, PhD
(Univ. Colorado)

Title

“Social Determinants of Health and Diabetes: Focusing a Newer Lens”

“Diabetes and Heart Failure – Mitochondrial Mechanisms”

“Insulin secretion and peripheral Insulin action: orchestrating better harmony” *Recording will be available at a later date

“COVID-19 Vaccine Distribution Disparities”

“Racial/Ethnic Disparities in the COVID-19 Pandemic”

“COVID-19 and Its Impact in People with Diabetes”

“Clinical Translation of Genetic Predictors for Type 2 Diabetes”

“Lessons from mouse models of bariatric surgery”

07/07 at
1:00 PM CT

COVID and Diabetes Panel

Carmella Evans-Molina, MD, PhD

Peter Jackson, PhD

Shuibing Chen, PhD

“Hot topics: in vitro modeling of molecular interactions between SARS-CoV2 and diabetes”

08/11 at
1:00 PM CT

Jaclynn Hawkins
(Univ. Michigan)

“Type 2 Diabetes in African American Men: Lessons Learned and the Road Ahead”